7 or 8
Crank this to 8.9 of 11
Hard rock
Sounds Like:
Cell, Lungfish, Pontiak
Friday, July 3, 2015
There are many different styles of heavy. Kinski delivers a very thick and weighted heavy that is characterized by a relentless common goal to keep things plodding forward. Much like the great Fu Manchu, Kinski takes a page out of simplicity and movement with a thick richness of heaviness that has direction and continuity.

Hailing from Seattle, WA Kinski has been around the block having put out their 7th (or 8th) album. A very witty nonchalant album title which we give them kudos for. If you are just wetting your appetite with Kinski, you should be comforted to know that you have a nice collection of prior albums to immerse yourselves into.

Track Listing:
1.  Detroit Trickle Down (6:14)
2. Flight Risk (3:36)
3. I Fell Like a Fucking Flower (4:30)
4. Powder (5:30)
5. Drink Up and Be Somebody(2:14)
6. Operation Negligee (3:55)
7. Bulletin of the International String Figure Association (11:59)

The opener kicks things immediately into high gear with an instrumental flurry of guitar solos and riffs. The song infuses anything but a slow trickle down and really sets the tone for the album. "Flight Risk" is led by Chris Martin and features some rustic Bad Religionesque vocals. The swirling guitars really plod on with some extremely heavy tones that stick with you. The track is well placed amongst the seven tracks and we have to wait until track 6 to hear additional vocals. "I Feel Like a Fucking Flower" guitar-work and percussion remind us very much of Jesus Lizard. The high pitched dueling guitar-work is very impactful and really resonates. This track will really get the blood pressure going up. Heavy bass erupts a at about the 1:30 mark and the track ends with an onslaught of feverish solos. We found ourselves improvising our own David Yow bellowing. Next up, "Powder" branches out more than any song on the album. Kinski brings things down a bit hear and adds domes soft acoustic guitar accompaniment. The track contains some beautiful melodies and loads up with some heavy wawa peddle that works magically within the last two minutes of the track.

"Drink Up and Be Somebody" gets back to the heaviness and reminds us very much of the band Cell (pick-up the album Slo Blo). The weight of the feedback and reverb are immense and the heaviness we describe at the beginning of this review really hits its stride. "Operation Negligee" melds in some solid vocals that compliment the grinding vocals. Kinski does a nice job easing back a bit on the guitar solos and letting the background riffs breathe to let the vocals gain more spotlight. Solid track indeed. The closer "Bulletin of the International String Figure Association" is a wonderful journey as the intriguing slow build really develops into a vibrant group. We start connecting the dots at about the seven minute mark where previous melodies connect into a very inspiring central theme. I believe we also hear hints of organ music. The percussion goes wild here and the last are jaw dropping with energy and emotion.

We continue to be amazed at how many talented bands can be so prolific and yet still fly under the radar. Kinski are very very good at their craft and deserve more recognition. We have yet to experience them live, but certainly look forward to it in the near future. Having this breadth of a catalogue should result in a great live show. 7 (or 8) is a very thick album comprising seven impressive tracks. Your collection needs this type of heavy in its rotation. Grab the album and delve into their other works. It is only natural after you hear the type of heavy Kinski delivers. - 7/3/2015

Standout Tracks: Bulletin of the International String Figure Association, I Fell Like a Fucking Flower
If you like this you might like...